Hi All,

My name is Mallory de Man, a 20 year old Dutchie. Even though I was born in the Netherlands I’m not quite sure I’m allowed to call myself Dutch. I’ve lived abroad for the majority of my life. When I was 7 I moved from the Netherlands to Curacao in the Caribbean where I lived for four years with my parents and grandparents. After that I moved to the United Arab Emirates with my grandparents to do secondary education. I lived in Fujairah for a year, then Dubai for a year and finally stayed in Abu Dhabi for five years.

After finishing my A-levels I moved back to Holland to do my bachelor in International Leisure Management at NHTV in Breda. Currently I’m living in Swansea, Wales where I am doing a 7 month internship at a sports event and touring company. My boyfriend lives here as well 🙂

I’ve always loved reading. I remember one of the first times I read a ‘grown up’ book. It was a Dutch book with a bunch of short, scary stories called ‘Eng’, Dutch for Scary. I was on the train with my mum and she had it with her so I decided to give it a try. Needless to say, my mum was mesmerised by the fact that I could read an adult book. Ever since then I started reading more and more books, starting in Dutch. Once I moved to the UAE I started reading in English as everything I did there was in English.

I now have an obsession with collecting and reading books which some might say is unhealthy (especially when it comes to Harry Potter), or expensive but I love it. But another post will be dedicated just to my love for books.

I have many hobbies outside of reading of course. I love sports, and going for walks as well as some wild nights out. I used to dance and sing a lot but with moving from secondary school where this was massive to a uni where it’s minor I don’t get a lot of opportunity to do this. I also have this massive thing about plays and musicals having to be in English so I’m kind of limited in options back home. I love psychology, I studied it at A-level and fell in love with it straight away.

So that’s a little bit about me, but I’m sure you’ll find out more about me throughout my blog 😉

 

Love Mallory x