As most of us are aware, Valentine’s day is coming up meaning, it is the month to turn into cringy lovers (whether that’s with a partner or a book, each to themselves). I personally love love stories and always find myself pining for the underdog.

Below is a list of books ranging from young adult to erotica that I think are a great read in the month of February. All you need now are some great smelling candles, a glass of wine or hot chocolate and a snuggly blanket.

twilight-stephanie-meyer1. Twilight – Stephenie Meyer

Yes, I know, I can’t believe I opened with this either, but, I can’t deny I love the book. If you have only ever seen the movie then give this book a chance. “In the first book of the Twilight Saga, Stephenie Meyer introduces Bella Swan and Edward Cullen, a pair of star-crossed lovers whose forbidden relationship ripens against the backdrop of small-town suspicion and a mysterious coven of vampires. This is a love story with bite.” – Goodreads

2. An Abundance of Katherines – John Greenan-abundance-of-katherines-john-green
I loved this book so much, it was truly wonderful, but then I love anything John Green. Everyone has a type of person they tend to fall in love with, for Colin Singleton, this happens to be girls named Katherine. He’s dated 19 to be exact and has been dumped by every single one of them. His friend, Hassan, decides to take him on a road trip to get his mind
of his latest break up with Katherine number 19. But rather than taking his mind off things he decides to write The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, a theory which should predict the future of all relationships.
 
This book takes you on a fast paced journey, with fun facts from the child prodigy Colin and pulls at your heartstrings.

the-fault-in-our-stars-john-green3. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
Yes, another John Green book, but one can’t deny that he is great at writing love stories and it is completely different.
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten” – Goodreads
The book takes you on a beautiful journey and along the way there is a beautiful love story that makes you think about life, love and happiness differently. This book does not guarantee a happy ending, it does guarantee tears, heartbreak but also laughter and unstoppable smiling.

4. Just One Day – Gayle Forman 51vkhu-d2l-_sx324_bo1204203200_
Another book that I adored. Aside from a great love story this book explores the personal development of main character Allyson, read my full review here.
Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life. – Goodreads

rebel-bully-geek-pariah-erin-lange5. Rebel Bully Geek Pariah – Erin Jade Lange
This book I picked up by luck as the Dutch bookstores have very limited English books and the I loved the cover. It doesn’t seem to be a very popular book, however, I thought it was great (full review coming soon)
Four completely different people, as described in the title, find themselves fleeing a party when the police shows up. As they escape they hit a police officer with the car they jumped into and find themselves rushing out of the town they live in to hide in a cabin from the police. Over the course of the novel they begrudgingly become attached to one another and open up about their pasts and find themselves becoming friends as their days become more and more hectic. 
Even though this isn’t a romantic read it is a book about people coming together and a great friendship forming, so especially for those who aren’t into the lovey-dovey stuff this is definitely a great alternative.

6. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowelleleanor-and-park-rainbow-rowell
Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.
Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.
Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.
Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. – Goodreads
I can’t tell you whether this book is great as it is on my own February to read list, but the reviews are all extremely positive.

the-notebook-nicholas-spark7. The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks
I haven’t read this book in a while but I remember how great it was and how much it made me cry with its heartbreaking, amazing love story. This makes you feel all the feels.
“North Carolina, October 1946. Noah Calhoun has recently returned from war: he tries to forget the horrors he has seen and experienced by restoring an old plantation home. But though his days are spent working, his nights too often give way to dreams of his past.
Fourteen years ago, Noah fell in love with a girl, and he is still haunted by her memory but convinced he will never find her again. But when the past slips into the present, Noah realises his ghosts are never far away.”
If you’ve only seen the movie and loved that, then you will adore this because it is so much better.

8. PS. I Love You – Cecelia Ahern ps-i-love-you-cecelia-ahern
This is another one that is on my own February to read list, I’ve seen the movie but as I have a tendency to prefer books this is definitely one I need to read.
Holly couldn’t live without her husband Gerry, until the day she had to. They were the kind of young couple who could finish each other’s sentences. When Gerry succumbs to a terminal illness and dies, 30-year-old Holly is set adrift, unable to pick up the pieces. But with the help of a series of letters her husband left her before he died and a little nudging from an eccentric assortment of family and friends, she learns to laugh, overcome her fears, and discover a world she never knew existed.

50-shades-of-grey-el-james9. Fifty Shades of Grey – E.L. James
Yes I am aware that this book is seen as a bad book by many people, but I really enjoyed the series. And with that I mean of course the steamy, sometimes weird AF sex scenes in the books. I mean, this book isn’t for everyone but I couldn’t put it down.
When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

10. Bared to You – Sylvia Day bared-to-you-sylvia-day
Very similar to 50 shades of grey but also said to be a lot better I enjoy the series ‘Crossfire’ just as much as 50 shades, definitely one to pick up this month if you’re looking for a steamy read.
“He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily Gideon “knew.” He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each others most private wounds and desires.
The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart ” – Bared to you

I’m aware this is a very long post, what with the blurbs and all but I myself enjoy reading the blurbs to books to give me some insight. Hope you’ve find a book you like and have a lovely valentines day, with book, partner, a glass of wine or all of them.

Love Mallory x

