*** CONTAINS SPOILERS ***

Favourite Quote:

“I don’t think I’m dreaming… I ain’t got the brains to make this up.” — Jacob

So I asked for this book for Christmas, let me tell you, it was really difficult to contain myself whenever I walked into a bookshop and not buy it. I read it a few weeks after seeing the movie and I think this was a big mistake.

Before you read this and criticise me, yes I am aware it is a screenplay, I had however never read one straight after watching the movie. When you read a screenplay when you can still remember the movie it isn’t as exciting. Please note that when I say movie I am referring to the screenplay.

But before I start reviewing this let me give you a short overview of the story. Newt Scamander, the author of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find (part of Hogwarts curriculum) travels to New York in the 1920’s with a suitcase full of magical beasts. Once he arrives it turns out there is mayhem in New York due to a dark force. Shortly after arriving in New York his briefcase gets swapped around and some of his creatures escape. In order to keep the creatures safe Newt must find them and return them to his suitcase. Meanwhile, Newt has met a No-Maj (muggle), Jacob, who he forgets to obliviate and ends up helping him return the beasts to the suitcase. However, the ministry gets involved and blames Newt for the mayhem in New York even though his beasts aren’t at fault.

jacobgif.gif

Let me start off with a very positive note, I absolutely love the characters in this movie. They are funny, quick thinking and easy to follow. Newt, a slightly awkward young man has a deep love for magical creatures and will do anything to protect them. Jacob, a No-Maj, finds this magical world he could never even dream off. You see him falling in love with the creatures from the moment he encounters them. Tina starts off as quite a stern character but turns out to be a loving and caring character who is very likable. Then there is Queenie, I love Queenie. She has the power to read minds (she is a legilimens) and she says what she herself, she is very straight forward which makes her very funny.

I love the plot of the movie, it is fast paced, exciting and has unexpected twists and turns. I personally didn’t see it coming that Credence was the obscurus. The characters and all the events taking place really make this a beautiful and funny movie. I love how well the creatures are explained in the screenplay, especially the nifflerniffler gif.gif

I personally think I would have enjoyed reading this more if the movie wasn’t so clear in my memory still so I will try to reread it again in a few months, so that is my tip to you. Don’t read this right after you have seen the movie as it might be a little disappointing and boring, purely because you know exactly what is going to happen. Definitely read this if you saw it a while ago. I’m not sure how good it would be if you read this first and then watched the movie…

Now let me close this off with a very relatable quote from Jacob, because don’t we all;

“I wish I was a wizard.” — Jacob

Hope you enjoyed reading this,

Love Mallory x