*** CONTAINS SPOILERS ***

Favourite Quote:
Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.” – Dumbledore


I loved this.


There is nothing else to say than I absolutely loved this. The only negative is that it finished. Before I review this let me give you a small overview of the story.


The story picks up where it left off in the Deathly Hallows, we first see Harry, Ron, Hermione and Draco with their children on platform 9 ¾. Harry’s son, Albus Severus Potter is worried about what house he will put into, but mostly, to living up to his name as he is a ‘famous Potter’. At school he is put into Slytherin and becomes best friends with Draco’s son, Scorpius, a true friendship. Both of them struggle at school and are constantly looked down on and overall not accepted by other students. Albus starts to act out against his dad, he overhears to story of Cedric and decides to try and save him. Using a time-turner, Albus and Scorpius go back in time to try and stop Cedric dying. But of course, as most of us know, changing one thing in the past creates a ripple effect and everything goes wrong from here. The story takes a sharp turn and becomes much darker. The two boys try everything to make the world return to how it was, but someone else has other plans, they want the Dark Lord to return.

 

I think this was the story we were all waiting for when we all thought the Deathly Hallows would be the final story we would read about Harry, Ron and Hermione’s lives. And it was honestly so much better than I hoped for. I think it is great that Rowling decided to publish the script for those of us not fortunate enough to get tickets to the play and allow us to get back into that magic of Harry Potter and his world.
What I loved most about this book is the fact that we got such a deep insight into some of the characters. Mostly Draco, I loved that we finally got a chance to see that really has wasn’t all that bad, he was lonely which led him to some dark decisions. I love that Scorpius meets Snape, we all missed Snape, and I’m so glad he made an appearance and we were once again reminded of his greatness and his love for Lily Potter.


I was quite sad to see that Neville didn’t make an appearance as I personally found he was one of the best characters in the Harry Potter series along with Luna Lovegood, I mean, who didn’t want to see them end up together? But then was very happy to see that Dumbledore and his great wisdom were still involved, that Harry still asked him for help. But was also quite pleased to see that Dumbledore knew he had made mistakes. The scene between Harry and Dumbledore where both men say day love each other is so beautiful and sad at the same time. I’ve always been a big fan of Dumbledore’s quotes so I was happy to see that some new, great quotes were included.


The characters of Scorpius and Albus are both very well explored. I think the idea of Albus struggling with having such a famous father is very realistic. He has such high expectations to live up to and he doesn’t know how. Of course, Scorpius has this problem as well, as his dad is a known ex death eater. The two become unlikely friends and we see a beautiful friendship form which reminds us very much of the friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione. There are some great quotes to show just how much the two care about each other.

“Thank you for being my light in the darkness” – Scorpius


The story itself I think was great as well. It was very fast paced and took some great turns and twists. The adventure Albus and Scorpius is written in the same style as Harry Potter’s adventures which makes us feel like we’ve jumped straight back in. The surroundings and people in the story are so familiar to those of us who have read or watched Harry Potter that we feel like we’re back home.


I loved this, I think I personally would have preferred to read it in the form of a novel and see the characters develop even more, the stories even more detailed and some other characters appear. I read this in two hours and I was so sad to finish it. I am so glad they decided to publish this and allow us to once again dive into this world of magic. But now, I just want more.

“Those we love never truly leave us, Harry. There are things that death cannot touch.” – Dumbledore

I hope you enjoyed this, let me know what you thought about this book or my review in the comments!
Love Mallory x