I was sent a copy of this book in return for an honest review.

*** WARNING – SOME SPOILERS AHEAD ***

Favourite quote:

I’ve had a while to think about it, and honestly, recovering the past like that… it’s much more important to worry about the present and the future.”

I loved this book. I do have to admit I’m not quite sure why, like I can’t put my finger on any particular reason why, but all that matters is I did.

Raven Song is set in 2147. The world as we know it has been destroyed and all the big cities are now situated underneath domes to keep out radioactive chemicals. The world seems to have gotten a lot more morbid, with no electricity after a certain time at night and with no chance of travel. Jackson, found on the street at the age of ten, is a successful business man, well he was until his powers started to return and he started to see ravens again. Because you see, ravens were extinct and no one was meant to see them. Then, a girl named Anna comes along, she pops up in the middle of a wasteland in a box. But Anna is a little strange, because the last thing she can remember is that she was at work in 2022, she’s emitting radioactive waves and she floats… Jackson and Anna find themselves both in situations that require them to hide out in a safe house. But the safe house isn’t that safe. Soon they both find themselves in an underground fighting ring where people fight to do death. Will they be able to escape? 

The only question I have for this book is – what happens next? The cliffhanger at the end of the book killed me.

The characters in the book are so well written. You understand their motives, their background and their feelings. With it being written through both Anna and Jackson, you see the events taking place from two different points of view, which in this case, works so well and adds to the story.

The story-line is interesting and exciting with plot twists and excitement. But then, I also wasn’t that excited. I don’t actually know why. I think because I’m such a big fan of romance and expect pretty much every dystopian book now to have a love story, I kind of missed that in this story. I could see the friendship building, and I was shipping them so bad. The two go together so well, but not until the end do we see Jackson feels like that about Anna. We never actually find out about how Anna feels, probably in the next book? (please?)

I loved Anna’s development as a characters, how she went from disbelieving her new existence to embracing it, but not too fast and not too slow. I loved Shark’s character, a secondary character but funny and memorable, he definitely made me giggle a little through his dialogue.

This book managed to embrace fantasy, science fiction, world destruction, magic and a dystopian setting all in one, and it did it amazingly.

If you’re looking for an original book with a great storyline, characters and a unique setting, definitely give this a shot!

Now I’m just gonna go and find out when the second book comes out, because I need to know what happens next.

Love Mallory x