So I’ve decided to start doing some memes as well because I love writing posts but sometimes I just run out of ideas so I thought this would be a fun way to keep going.

This weeks theme is National Read Across America Day! ‘Choose a book that you would recommend to everyone.’ (I’m not in America, let’s make it international read across the world day)

So I’m choosing House Rules by Jodi Picoult 

I picked this book up by sheer luck, I was looking for a good English book. This can be a real pain sometimes in Holland as most of the shops have a very limited selection, usually only best sellers, or the complete opposite.

So I was in this shop with my nan for about half an hour, I’d read some of Jodi’s stuff before and always like her work. As people who have been following my blog might notice, I love psychology, so this book promised to be a good read. It’s a brilliant book that keeps you guessing throughout, how she did it I don’t know because it’s a hefty 532 pages.

The cover image is the book version I have. I’m quite happy that’s the one they had, it’s definitely my favourite cover. Below are some from other countries.

Which cover do you like best? Would you read this book?

Synopsis:

When your son can’t look you in the eye…does that mean he’s guilty?

Jacob Hunt is a teen with Asperger’s syndrome. He’s hopeless at reading social cues or expressing himself well to others, though he is brilliant in many ways. But he has a special focus on one subject – forensic analysis. A police scanner in his room clues him in to crime scenes, and he’s always showing up and telling the cops what to do. And he’s usually right.

But when Jacob’s small hometown is rocked by a terrible murder, law enforcement comes to him. Jacob’s behaviors are hallmark Asperger’s, but they look a lot like guilt to the local police. Suddenly the Hunt family, who only want to fit in, are directly in the spotlight. For Jacob’s mother, Emma, it’s a brutal reminder of the intolerance and misunderstanding that always threaten her family. For his brother, Theo, it’s another indication why nothing is normal because of Jacob.

And over this small family, the soul-searing question looms: Did Jacob commit murder?

Hope you enjoyed!

Love Mallory x