This weeks book travelling Thursday is based on International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination as that was a couple of days ago… This week we had to choose a book with a People of Colour as a main character.

I have to say, I struggled with thinking of one because it’s not something I really pay attention to. I don’t go into a book thinking, oh is the main character white or not. I mean I’m pretty certain I’ve read a few books where this isn’t even clarified. Don’t get me wrong I think there should be more books with People of Colour, I just have to admit it’s not something that is a deciding factor for me, the story is the deciding factor for me, whether that’s with white, black, purple or rainbow coloured people doesn’t influence that. (I’m kind of just rambling because I don’t want to offend anyone…)

I decided to go with a book that I own but still need to read. Life of Pi. I came across some stunning book covers! The one at the top is the book I own.

I’ve watched the movie several times and I thought it was so beautiful that I bought the book. However, I bought it when I went through this phase where I only read fantasy books so when I tried to read it I couldn’t really get into it. I’d like to believe I’ve developed as a reader though and really want to give it another shot.

There were a ton of English covers alone:

 

But there were also a bunch of different international covers:

 

I didn’t like the international covers as much as the English covers, tbh I don’t really like any of them. None of them really stand out to me. My favourite cover is the aqua drawing one with the sea and the tiger leaning over the boat.

Have any of you read the book or seen the movie? Let me know which is your favourite and least favourite cover and what you thought of the books if you’ve read it.

If you haven’t seen the movie, go watch it, it’s stunning, especially the scene with the algae!

Love Mallory x

giphy.gif

 

