Before I even start a review, I’d like to apologise for barely being on here anymore. Everything is becoming a little bit too much with my internship coming to an end and a bunch of uni work coming up and also having a lot of review requests coming in. I have to admit, I’m not really keeping up. But hoping to get back into it in the next few weeks. I’ll be moving back to Holland in three weeks and hope to go back to a bit of a normal life again.

Now, what I actually came here for; to review this amazing book.

Favourite Quote:

The day you stop learning, my love, is the day you stop living.

Sometimes I feel like everyone else was handed a copy of the rules for life and mine got lost.

Grace has Asperger’s and her own way of looking at the world. She’s got a horse and a best friend who understand her, and that’s pretty much all she needs. But when Grace kisses Gabe and things start to change at home, the world doesn’t make much sense to her any more.

Suddenly everything threatens to fall apart, and it’s up to Grace to fix it on her own.

Whip-smart, hilarious and unapologetically honest, The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas is a heart-warming story of one girl trying to work out where she fits in, and whether she even wants to.

I personally felt this book was quite original compared to other books on mental health I’ve read. I didn’t find the focus was constantly on the fact that the main character had a mental disorder but was actually more about her day to day life and relationships.

I think it does highlight Aspergers really well and give a deeper understanding to people who have it. But as I said there is so much more to this book than just that.

I loved Grace’s character and how we saw her cope with everyday life and building relationships. The best thing is, she has been written like any other character would be, she just worries a little more. I actually found I could relate to some of her actions really well even though I have no form of Autism. She is just another girl who falls in love with a guy and worries about things every teenage girl would.

I did find the massive plot twist with her certain a little sudden. I understand the home situation wasn’t ideal but the build up to it just seemed to small. One moment she is hanging around with someone who isn’t a great influence, next thing she’s just hit the deepest end. I liked that there were more things going on in the book, but I could’ve definitely done with a little more build up there.

This book was amazing and I’m so happy I got to read and review it through Netgalley.

It will be published on the 6th of April so make sure to add it to your spring reading list!

Love Mallory x

