Mia Jo Celeste has recently release her book Other Than. To show off her amazing book I did an interview with Mia. She has also allowed me to share an exclusive excerpt from her book. On top of that, there is a sale until the 17th of March, which means you can buy the book from any of the links at the bottom of the post for 99 Cents! If the cover isn’t enough to convince you than I’m sure the content in this post will 🙂

It only takes one drink from the Water of Immortality to kill Evie Woods—halfway. Trapped in undead flesh, the world’s last skin-slider wakens on an island purgatory where a cursed spring bubbles with immortality, and zombie cannibals crave living flesh. Her only hope of escape rests in the hands of the one man who would see her fail. Lord Victor Lowell, the man of her dreams and darkest nightmares. Contrary and intractable, Victor preys on others to maintain his angelic charisma and preternatural prowess.

Trapped in an ever escalating war they can’t stop, Victor and Evie fight time for a cure, but as the long days pass, blackness tears at Evie, ripping her thoughts from her one memory at a time. Victor will do whatever it takes to prevent her from deteriorating into a rotting husk, even if it means dooming himself, but Evie won’t surrender his soul without a fight. 

new-wow-gif-255.gif

From Mia: I’m excited to have this opportunity to visit Mallory. She generously reviews books for reading-addicts like me who love finding a new author or series. I’m also an author, and has kindly asked me to share a little about my new release, Other Than, and my writing life with her readers.

  1. What are you currently reading?
    Fuse by Julianna Baggott
  2. What inspired you to write such a unique, zombie-esque romance?
    I was trying to think of a ginormous problem that would require take a novel’s worth of pages to solve. A fellow critique partner started a romance with the heroine dying.  I thought that’s it! Too bad I didn’t think of that. When I found out that I’d actually read her story’s prologue, I started Other Than.
  3. What would your DJ name be?
    No Clue Jones
  4. If you didn’t write, what would you do for work?
    I’m an English teacher, so words are really a big part of my life. I plan to continue writing and teaching.
  5. What’s your current WIP?
    It’s a YA story where a villain changes sides.
  6. Do you have a muse for your main characters, Victor or Evie?
    I used the Bronte sisters’ heroes, Heathcliff and Mr. Rochester, for inspiration for Victor while Evie is a lot like Jane Eyre. She’s brave and resourceful yet vulnerable.
  7. Is there an actor you’d pick for your hero, Victor Lowell?
    Yes,
    Richard Scott Harmon. He’s probably best known for his role as John Murphy in CW’s The 100. Victor is a misunderstood anti-hero, who becomes better as he falls for the heroine.
  8. A good villain is hard to write. How did you get in touch with your inner villain(s) to write this book?
    Was there a real-life inspiration for him/her/it? There are several villains in Other Than. My favorite one to write about was Lady Malka Lowell. She’s the hero’s mother. I’m a mother, too, so I could relate with her desire to protect and fix the lives around her.  I gave her the fierce love I have for my children then I pushed her need to control situations and make everything work out to the extreme. I guess she might be every daughter-in-law’s worst nightmare.
  9. What is your preferred method to have readers get in touch with or follow you (i.e., website, personal blog, Facebook page, here on Goodreads, etc.) and link(s)?
    I’m pretty much open. I work hard on my blog. I’ve done it for years, and I love it when people respond to my posts. That said, I just became a Goodreads member and I’m an avid reader, so I’m hoping to spend more time there. Here are my links:https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/62257812-mia-jo-celeste
    Twitter-  @MiajoCeleste
    Website- http://www.miaceleste.com/
    Blog- http://otherworlddiner.blogspot.com/
    Facebook- fb.me/ Mia.Jo.Celeste

 

And here what you all wanted to see, an exclusive excerpt (warning, you will want to buy this book)

Chilling as a January draft, the statue’s eyes drilled into Evie. Let him be.

“I will not help you.”

Why ever not? I’ve helped you, kitten. Several times we’ve had our little mouseling cornered—yet you let him go and now you’re endeavoring to release my chosen tiger.

Without a doubt. Her gaze sought Victor. “Stay with me.”

Victor stumbled. His steps reeled as if he were in his cups. Evie hoped, part of him battled to return to her. She tried to follow and found her feet planted. Her knees locked as if the Maiden had clamped a giant hand around her, but Evie was a skin-slider—a being versed in mental combat and a master of her own flesh. She gritted her teeth and fought for control.

You resist only because someone sacrificed a life for you. A life easily stripped away.

Shuddering, Evie let the thought hang.

Victor stumbled to the statue and fell to his knees. He flung his arms around the stone. “I can’t lose my hands.”

Jaw tight, she strained. Suddenly in a sensation like ice cracking off her skin, Evie’s body returned to her. She rushed to Victor and crouched beside him.

The statue’s brows lowered. Her sculpted eyes sparked with hatred. One would think we were enemies. Persist and we shall be.

Evie had made her choice. This lovely tormented man was hers. She had to save him, all of him, including his hands. She grabbed his chin. Turning his face, she pressed her lips to his. Skin-to-skin, her resolve and defiance transferred, as did her growing affection.

He blinked, then blinked again. The stunning corona of his irises strobed then snuffed out. Brows popped upward while wonder widened his wholly blue, wholly Victor eyes. “You love me?”

“I do.” Evie swallowed hard. Time to tell a lie and make it count. Convince herself as well as Victor. “The Maiden’s refused you, but you can rely on me. I’ve studied with the Moorish Master physicians and know of a poultice. Poultices are the strongest healing remedies.”

“Honestly?” Voice as buoyant as his brows, he leaned toward her.

“Honestly. Come.” She flashed him her brightest smile, grabbed his wrist and took advantage of his momentary daze to tug him into the hall. “We’re going to the conservatory.”

He shook his head. “Jessup’s concoctions don’t work.”

“This won’t be his. It’ll be mine.” An assurance she struggled for internally rang true in her voice.

Last chance, kitten. Turn Around. Return my tiger.

No!

addictive.gif

 

Other than can be found on the following websites:

http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/all-titles/4817-other-than.html

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/other-than

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/other-than/id1180447475?mt=11

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Mia_Jo_Celeste_Other_Than?id=KCXoDQAAQBAJ

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/other-than-mia-jo-celeste/1125456628?ean=2940157264024

https://www.amazon.com/Other-Than-Mia-Jo-Celeste-ebook/dp/B01N7ANXUQ/

Hope you enjoyed this post and make sure to check out the actual book. Thanks Mia for sharing all the info with me and my readers!

Love Mallory x