Oh this book was so wonderful! I didn’t know whether I should expect it to be a kids book as the reading level is 9+ and the main character is 10 years old. But I read it and I loved it. 

Favourite quote: 

Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.

I struggled to pick a favourite quote because there were so many beautiful things in the book I could have chosen from. 

 I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

As soon as the book starts you love Auggie he is very sweet and smart. And you want everything to go right at school. Of course it doesn’t, and the kids are awful to him. And I can imagine this is exactly what would happen. It is written so realistically that you feel so sympathetic towards Auggie but you also smile when some of the kids are very kind to him, as they should be. 

The whole book focused on the importance of kindness, towards everyone. It shows that friendships are important and that the most unlikely friendships can be the best ones. That if you really believe you can do something and stand behind that 100% that you will achieve it. 

We see the internal struggles of Auggie but we also see how much the other characters like him and why. It’s written from multiple characters POV which I loved because it really gives you an insight into why everyone behaves the way they do. 

I definitely recommend this book to everyone, and especially to read it before the movie comes out later this year. 

Another brilliant quote: 

The best way to measure how much you’ve grown isn’t by inches or the number of laps you can now run around the track, or even your grade point average– though those things are important, to be sure. It’s what you’ve done with your time, how you’ve chosen to spend your days, and whom you’ve touched this year. That, to me, is the greatest measure of success.

Love Mallory x

